Commissioner Steinbrecher Presents UA with MAC Institutional Achievement Award

Commissioner Steinbrecher Presents UA with MAC Institutional Achievement Award

AKRON, Ohio – Mid-American Conference Commissioner Dr. Jon Steinbrecher presented The University of Akron with the league's 2010-11 Institutional Academic Achievement Award during Saturday night's men's basketball game versus Kent State at Rhodes Arena.

The award is presented annually to the MAC school that achieves the highest overall institutional grade-point average for student-athletes competing in university-sponsored sports for the academic year. For the 2010-11 school year, Akron posted an overall athletics GPA of 3.14 based on 417 student-athletes in 18 sports.

Associate Athletics Director for Student-Athlete Academic Services Anne Jorgensen along with UA student-athletes Scott Caldwell (men's soccer) and Katie Jenior (women's golf), members of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, accepted the award.

UA topped Toledo in the competition by the slimmest of margins, bettering the Rockets by .01 points (3.13 GPA, 358 student-athletes). The award is the first for the Zips since its inception following the 1994-95 academic year.

While Akron's student-athletes posted high marks in the classroom last year, 2010-11 was also one of the most successful seasons for the University in varsity competition as well. The Zips won the men's soccer national title, in addition to five MAC championships (men's soccer, men's basketball, men's indoor and outdoor track, and women's tennis).