Zips Athletics Inducts 38th Annual Sports Hall of Fame Class

Zips Athletics Inducts 38th Annual Sports Hall of Fame Class

Follow Zips Athletics on Twitter (@FollowTheRoo) and Facebook  |  Z-Fund  |  Buy Tickets

View Varsity "A" Association Sports Hall of Fame All-Time Roster
38th Annual Varsity "A" Association Sports Hall of Fame Program in PDF Format

Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Photo Gallery  |  Video Recap and Interviews

– Over 3
00 people filled the ballroom of The University of Akron's Quaker Square Inn on Friday night as UA Athletics inducted its 38th Annual Sports Hall of Fame class, sponsored by the Varsity "A" Association.

The class of 2012 is made up of Michael Andy (football), LeShaunte Edwards (track), Russ Klaus (football), Ken MacDonald (administration), Julie (Bias) Pratt (softball), Ken Pryor (soccer) and Michelle (Rizzo) Wardle (cross country, track).

Also recognized tonight
was Kenneth "Red" Cochrane Meritorious Service Award recipient Ted Curtis, and Mike Krino Varsity "A" Achievement Award honoree Karl Schwarzinger. George Van Horne, UA's Associate Athletics Director for Development and a former Zips baseball letterwinner, was the recipient of the Varsity "A" Member of the Year Award.

Those nine people take the total in the UA Varsity "A" Sports Hall of Fame to 362 which includes 302 student-athletes, coaches and administrators, 35 Kenneth "Red" Cochrane Meritorious Service Award recipients and 25 Mike Krino Varsity "A" Achievement awardees.

The class will be presented at halftime of Saturday's Akron versus Bowling Green men's basketball game, which tips off at 7:30 p.m. ET at James A. Rhodes Arena. The game is the second half of a doubleheader in which the UA women's team goes up against Ball State at 5 p.m.

Also during the banquet, and as part of its celebration of the 40th anniversary of Title IX, Zips Athletics and the Varsity "A" Association awarded a varsity letter to females who competed in a club sport at UA prior to the existence of a varsity women’s athletics program in 1972.

The list of those who received a letter tonight, included
Anna Arvay (basketball) Karen Frey (archery, basketball, pool), Karen Herbert (basketball, volleyball), JoAnn Pifer (basketball, track, volleyball), Lynda Smole (basketball), Marilyn Stern (Pallage) (basketball, volleyball), Mary Anne Svetlik (badminton, basketball, field hockey, swimming, volleyball), Sally Tenney (basketball, volleyball) and Karen Trifinoff (track).

Video has no source Url